Prana Shakti and The Six Powers of our Mind


If you closely study the action of mind, upon mind, you will find that each man is a power in himself. You will have to develop yourself and your mind by self-restraint and control over your passions. When your mind becomes powerful, it can speak anything, about the glory of Atman,a storehouse of everything,an infinite, inexhaustible central magazine of powers, knowledge and bliss from where our little mind borrows its light and power.

Prana shakti is the primordial cosmic energy that governs all physical functions in our body. Prana is a life force energy and shakti that is associated with feminine and creative energy. Prana shakti is one of three forms of Shakti that energizes our body, mind and soul. Chitta Shakti controls the mind, while Atma Shakti is associated with the soul.

Powers of Our Mind

Whenever, any kind of fire accident or any other kind of accident occurs,you become agile and nimble! Do you not exhibit any wonderful powers?

You jump over a huge wall, save many children, run amidst fire boldly and carry things. All psychic powers, memory, imagination, will etc, are at play. Chivalry, intrepidity, undaunted spirit, mercy and various other noble virtues are exhibited by you in different situations of life. Where did you get these powers from?

In reality,there is a big, magnanimous magazine of power inside you.You can go to this source by meditation and tap it. You will get everything.You just have to Rely on the Self within.

The Six Important Powers of Your Mind

There are three main Saktis in your mind, viz.,

  • lchha Sakti (Will)

  • Kriya Sakti(Action)

  • Jnana Sakti(Knowledge)

When a desire arises in your mind,it is lchha Sakti.

You start working in order to have this desire gratified. This is Kriya Sakti.

You start making plans, schemes and find out methods, for the achievement of your desired goals.You use Kriya Shakti in order to fulfill your Ichha Shakti,and gain knowledge.This is Jnana Sakti.

The Six Important Powers of Mind are :

  • Vedana-Sakti (Power of Perception)
  • Smarana-Sakti or Smriti-Sakti (Power of Memory)
  • Bhavana-Sakti (Power of Imagination)
  • Manisha-Sakti (Power of Judgment)
  • Ilchha-Sakti or Sankalpa-Sakti (Will or Volition)
  • Dharana-Sakti (Power to Hold).


Vedana-Sakti is power of cognition or sensation,It is the power of perception and felt through lndriyas or senses (lndriya-Jnana or sense-knowledge).


Smriti-Sakti does three things.

  • It grasps.
  • It Holds.
  • It brings to Memory whenever we need to remember anything.

Though the power of grasping is done by the Vedana-Sakti of the mind (power of perception or cognition), the Smriti-Sakti also participates in the act of grasping.During Dhyana or meditation, our mind grasps and takes possession of its perceptions or judgments. It makes us content with any idea of its own. It strengthens our Samskaras so that a voluntary recall is rendered easily.


You have never have seen an elephant riding a cycle. When a man, who has actually seen it, gives you a description, your mind forms a mental picture at once. This is done by the Bhavana-Sakti (power of imagination) of your mind.


Power of comparing and contrasting, drawing inferences, discussion, conclusion, all belong to Manisha-Sakti of our mind. The Manisha-Sakti (power of judgment) has got two subdivisions, viz.,

  • Nimaya (Ascertainment)
  • Tarka (Logical Reasoning)


Will is Atma-Sakti. It is the dynamic aspect of Brahman. Will is a Brahman in motion.

There is correlation, co-ordination and co-operation between the different principles in our mind. Nobody can say which principle is great or small, important or unimportant.All principles depend upon each other for their power? It cannot be truly said that one is greater than the other,because their independence and power are derived from one another.


Dharana-Sakti (Power to Hold) is a part of our memory or Smarana-Sakti. In common practice, we say, “Mr. Ramakrishna is a man of good Dharana in Vedanta.” Here it means that Mr. Ramakrishna has got fixed and steady ideas in Vedanta. He cannot be changed by anybody. He is not of a wavering nature. He sticks to Vedanta alone. Nobody can shake him or his views.

Your View on this